Journal

Human Service Organizations: Leadership, Management and Governance JournalThe Human Service Organizations: Leadership, Management and Governance Journal (formerly called Administration in Social Work) is the official journal of the Network.

This highly respected, peer-reviewed journal is available 24/7 with a subscription and will keep you up to date on theory, practice, and research, with specific attention given to the relationship between social administration and social policy planning. For your professional development, this is a must read.

This journal is available for free with purchase of registration to our Annual Management conference.

View free articles here

This FREE ACCESS article collection features key content from Human Service Organizations: Management, Leadership & Governance that readers can utilize in every day practice.

  • Acess Slavin-Patti Award Winning Articles (PRACTICE RESEARCH)
  • Access Mary Parker Follette Award Wiining Articles (THEORY-INFORMED RESEARCH)
  • Access Burt Gummer Award Winning Articles (LITERATURE-INFORMED RESEARCH)
  • FREE ACCESS is also available to each issue’s Guest Editorial

Download these articles in PDF format or view in HTML format. FREE ACCESS through to June 2017.

Interested in writing for the journal? Please visit the Taylor and Francis website for more information, and/or click here to view the submission guidelines.

Want to serve as reviewer for HSO? Please email Alexis Biedermann.

HUMAN SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS: MANAGEMENT, LEADERSHIP, & GOVERNANCE

Editor-in-Chief

Richard L. Edwards
Chancellor Rutgers-New Brunswick
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email | redwards@oldqueens.rutgers.edu


 

Editor

Michael J. Austin
Mack Professor of Nonprofit Management
Director, Mack Center on Nonprofit & Public Sector Management in the Human Services School of Social Welfare
University of California
Email | mjaustin@berkeley.edu


 

Assistant Editor

Alexis Biedermann
Senior Executive Associate, Chancellor, Rutgers University-New Brunswick
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email | abiedermann@oldqueens.rutgers.edu


 

Associate Editors

Michàlle Mor Barak
Dean’s Endowed Professor of Social Work and Business
Director of the Ph.D. Program
School of Social Work & Marshall School of Business
University of Southern California
Email | morbarak@usc.edu

Karen Hopkins
Associate Professor
School of Social Work, University of Maryland
Email | khopkins@ssw.umaryland.edu

Tom Packard
Professor
School of Social Work, San Diego State University
Email | tpackard@mail.sdsu.edu

Nancy Dickinson
Professor and Project Director of the National Child Welfare Workforce Institute
School of Social Work, University of Maryland
Email | ndickinson@ssw.umaryland.edu

Bowen McBeath
Professor
School of Social Work, Portland State University
Email | mcbeath@pdx.edu

Editorial Advisory Board

Kristina Jaskyte Bahr
Associate Professor
School of Social Work, University of Georgia
Email | kjaskyte@gmail.com

Emmeline Chuang
Assistant Professor
Department of Health Policy and Management
University of California Los Angeles
Email | emchuang@ucla.edu

Michael D. Forster
Dean, College of Health & Professor of Social Work
University of Southern Mississippi
Email | michael.forster@usm.edu

Eve Garrow
Assistant Professor
School of Social Work, University of Michigan
Email | egarrow@umich.edu

Erick G. Guerrero
Assistant Professor
School of Social Work, University of Southern California
Email | erickgue@usc.edu

Lynne M. Healy
Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Emerita
School of Social Work, University of Connecticut
Email | lynne.healy@uconn.edu

Jean Kruzich
Associate Professor
School of Social Work, University of Washington
Email | kruzichj@uw.edu

Kelly LeRoux
Associate Professor
College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs
University of Illinois at Chicago
Email | kleroux@uic.edu

Lawrence L. Martin
Professor
Doctoral Program in Public Affairs, University of Central Florida
Email | martinl@mail.ucf.edu

Jennifer E. Mosley
Associate Professor
School of Social Service Administration, University of Chicago
Email | mosley@uchicago.edu

Hillel Schmid
Professor
The Paul Baerwald School of Social Work and Social Welfare
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Email | hillels@mscc.huji.ac.il

Karun K. Singh
Professor of Teaching
School of Social Work
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Email | ksingh@ssw.rutgers.edu

Steven L. Smith
Associate Professor
School of Social Work, Grand Valley State University
Email | photoartnet@yahoo.com; Smitstev@gvsu.edu

Karen M. Sowers
Dean and Beaman Professor
College of Social Work
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Email | kmsowers@utk.edu

John Tropman
Henry J. Meyer Collegiate Professor of Social Work and Director of the Program for Leadership in Community Benefit Organizations
School of Social Work, University of Michigan
Email | tropman@umich.edu

Rebecca Wells
Professor
School of Public Health, The University of Texas
Email | Rebecca.S.Wells@uth.tmc.edurebeccasusanwells@gmail.com